Home Page

The EYFS Curriculum - How do children learn within the EYFS?

How do Children in the EYFS Learn?


The EYFS Framework is a document that practitioners follow to assist with planning, teaching and assessing children within the EYFS.


This can also be referred to as the EYFS Curriculum as it is separate from the National Curriculum that is taught from Year One onwards. 


The EYFS Curriculum consists of seven key areas of development. These are then broken down into prime and specific areas:


Prime Areas:

Communication & Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development


Specific Areas:



Expressive Arts & Design

Understanding the World 

Further information regarding the EYFS curriculum

A snapshot of what learning in the EYFS looks like